Bussa Law

Main Menu

January 2018 Archives

Study recommends lowered drunk-driving threshold

For Minnesota motorists, DWI offenses already carry significant penalties. Even first-time offenders facing misdemeanor charges could wind up with a license suspension, a major fine and even jail time. Like all other states, Minnesota sets the drunk driving threshold at a blood alcohol count of .08 percent. However, a study is recommending a lowered limit, arguing that it will cut down on fatal accidents.

Minnesota man facing multiple drug charges

A 30-year-old man from Red Wing remains in Goodhue County Jail after authorities set his bail at $200,000. He stands accused of bringing methamphetamine into the state and selling it primarily on the Fond du Lac Reservation according to a statement from the Cloquet Police Department. The police agency launched an investigation of the man after an informant approached law enforcement and said that the man was buying methamphetamine out of state and distributing it in the Twin Cities and Carlton County.

  • What Should You Do If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You should not be hostile. Simply stop and allow the cop to do the cop’s job. If you are ticketed or arrested, immediately...

  • What Should You Say If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You have constitutional rights that you can invoke. This means that you do not have to say anything to cops, which is...

  • Can A Cop Search Your Person And/Or Your Stuff?

    A cop can search you and/or your car if a cop has probable cause to believe you pose a violent threat to the cop and/or that you...

  • What Is The Standard To Arrest You?

    A cop must have probable cause to arrest you for a crime. A cop can use the cop’s training and experience as well as his...

  • What Should You Do If You Get Served With A Search Warrant?

    The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution mandates that a cop present...

  • If Arrested, How Long Can You Be Held In Jail?

    No matter what crime you are charged with, you have 36 hours to have a bail hearing if you are in jail. This time requirement...

  • If Arrested, How Long Do You Have To Wait To Be Formally Charged?

    If you are in custody, the prosecution has 48 hours from the time of your demand to file...

  • Are All Of Your Privacy Rights Protected?

    No, the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution only protects your person, your home, your papers, and your...

  • What Are The Differences Between The United States And The Minnesota Constitutions?

  • After You Are Charged, What Does The Process Entail?

    Vigorously defending your rights demands a marathon, not a sprint, mentality. Every stone must be overturned.

Learn More About Your Rights Call For A Free Consultation 218-303-5497

Free Consultations

Client Reviews

More Reviews