Bussa Law

Main Menu

States step up alcohol laws on the road

Some people in Minnesota are advocating for even stricter alcohol laws, claiming that new laws will help cut down on the number of accidents linked to drunk driving. During 2016, over 1 million people were arrested nationwide and charged with driving under the influence. Some claim that the number of drunk driving arrests represent only a small percentage of the total number of people who actually drive while intoxicated every year.

In every state of the country, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration for drivers is .08. The Centers for Disease Control says that this regulation has improved road safety but attribute 29 car accident deaths daily to drunk driving. A number of states are stepping up enforcement of a number of laws pertaining to alcohol and driving. These include the use of sobriety checkpoints and harsher enforcement of laws requiring bars and stores to only serve alcohol to those aged 21 or older. In addition, some advocates are urging states to raise taxes on alcohol purchases. States that increase alcohol enforcement and penalties can reportedly reduce the number of drunk drivers and related crashes.

Economists argue that overall alcohol consumption goes down when alcohol becomes more expensive and that this leads to fewer DWI arrests and related accidents. Tax increases are a major way in which states reduce the availability of alcohol along with imposing more laws on where and when alcohol can be sold.

When states step up law enforcement and increase patrols and checkpoints, drivers may be more likely to face arrests and charges for drunk driving. These changes can often be accompanied by increased penalties such as costly fines, the loss of one's license or even jail time. Drivers may want to protect their future by working with a criminal defense attorney to challenge DWI charges and fight to avoid a conviction.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • What Should You Do If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You should not be hostile. Simply stop and allow the cop to do the cop’s job. If you are ticketed or arrested, immediately...

  • What Should You Say If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You have constitutional rights that you can invoke. This means that you do not have to say anything to cops, which is...

  • Can A Cop Search Your Person And/Or Your Stuff?

    A cop can search you and/or your car if a cop has probable cause to believe you pose a violent threat to the cop and/or that you...

  • What Is The Standard To Arrest You?

    A cop must have probable cause to arrest you for a crime. A cop can use the cop’s training and experience as well as his...

  • What Should You Do If You Get Served With A Search Warrant?

    The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution mandates that a cop present...

  • If Arrested, How Long Can You Be Held In Jail?

    No matter what crime you are charged with, you have 36 hours to have a bail hearing if you are in jail. This time requirement...

  • If Arrested, How Long Do You Have To Wait To Be Formally Charged?

    If you are in custody, the prosecution has 48 hours from the time of your demand to file...

  • Are All Of Your Privacy Rights Protected?

    No, the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution only protects your person, your home, your papers, and your...

  • What Are The Differences Between The United States And The Minnesota Constitutions?

  • After You Are Charged, What Does The Process Entail?

    Vigorously defending your rights demands a marathon, not a sprint, mentality. Every stone must be overturned.

Learn More About Your Rights Call For A Free Consultation 218-303-5497

Free Consultations

Client Reviews

More Reviews