Bussa Law

Main Menu

Woman faces DWI charge after crash

A 34-year-old woman was charged with two counts of driving while intoxicated after crashing her vehicle in Ham Lake, Minnesota. The accident occurred at 10 p.m. on June 15, and authorities say that the woman had a blood alcohol content of .175 percent when it took place. Authorities also said that she initially claimed that she had not been driving the vehicle when it went off of the road.

However, officers believed that she was impaired when they made contact with her. Later, the woman admitted to driving the vehicle and to consuming alcohol prior to doing so. According to the woman's relatives, she was not supposed to be driving the car as she was on a variety of medications. After calling her attorney, the driver refused to take a breath test and tried to kick the officer who took her into custody.

She was charged with refusing a breath test, and both the DWI and refusal charge carry penalties of up to seven years in prison. She could also be fined up to $14,000 if convicted on either charge. The driver had three previous convictions for impaired driving prior to the crash in Ham Lake. Those convictions occurred in May 2010, June 2011 and July 2012.

Individuals who are charged with a drunk driving may face serious consequences such as incarceration, a fine and a loss of driving privileges. Those who refuse to take a breath test could face a license suspension or fine even if they aren't convicted of the DWI charge. This is why having experienced legal assistance can be advisable.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • What Should You Do If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You should not be hostile. Simply stop and allow the cop to do the cop’s job. If you are ticketed or arrested, immediately...

  • What Should You Say If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You have constitutional rights that you can invoke. This means that you do not have to say anything to cops, which is...

  • Can A Cop Search Your Person And/Or Your Stuff?

    A cop can search you and/or your car if a cop has probable cause to believe you pose a violent threat to the cop and/or that you...

  • What Is The Standard To Arrest You?

    A cop must have probable cause to arrest you for a crime. A cop can use the cop’s training and experience as well as his...

  • What Should You Do If You Get Served With A Search Warrant?

    The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution mandates that a cop present...

  • If Arrested, How Long Can You Be Held In Jail?

    No matter what crime you are charged with, you have 36 hours to have a bail hearing if you are in jail. This time requirement...

  • If Arrested, How Long Do You Have To Wait To Be Formally Charged?

    If you are in custody, the prosecution has 48 hours from the time of your demand to file...

  • Are All Of Your Privacy Rights Protected?

    No, the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution only protects your person, your home, your papers, and your...

  • What Are The Differences Between The United States And The Minnesota Constitutions?

  • After You Are Charged, What Does The Process Entail?

    Vigorously defending your rights demands a marathon, not a sprint, mentality. Every stone must be overturned.

Learn More About Your Rights Call For A Free Consultation 218-303-5497

Free Consultations

Client Reviews

More Reviews