Bussa Law

Main Menu

Here is what you should know about DWI sanctions in Minnesota

In Minnesota, getting a DWI can have an extremely negative effect on your life. The financial impact of a DWI could be up to $20,000, even as a first offender. Costs may include legal fees, increased insurance premiums, court costs and others.

In the past, Minnesota determined that its laws and penalties were not strong enough, so it passed DWI sanctions with ignition interlock systems. The goal was to improve safety on the roads while also giving convicted DWI offenders a chance to drive despite their convictions.

The ignition interlock device can be installed into the underside of the dashboard of the vehicle. It only allows a person to drive if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is under .02%.

What should you know about the ignition interlock device?

When first-time offenders are arrested at .16% or higher, they can be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in their vehicle. They may need to use it for one to two years, depending on the level of their offense.

If you are convicted of a DWI and want to retain your driving privileges, it's smart to seek an IID. An IID's installation immediately allows you to regain full or limited driving permissions so that you can continue to drive to work or other activities.

The IID is designed to prevent you from drinking, which is why it may require rolling retests or the use of an in-vehicle camera.

If you're arrested for a DWI, keep in mind that you do have a right to a defense. You may be able to reduce the chances of needing an IID or being convicted of a DWI.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • What Should You Do If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You should not be hostile. Simply stop and allow the cop to do the cop’s job. If you are ticketed or arrested, immediately...

  • What Should You Say If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You have constitutional rights that you can invoke. This means that you do not have to say anything to cops, which is...

  • Can A Cop Search Your Person And/Or Your Stuff?

    A cop can search you and/or your car if a cop has probable cause to believe you pose a violent threat to the cop and/or that you...

  • What Is The Standard To Arrest You?

    A cop must have probable cause to arrest you for a crime. A cop can use the cop’s training and experience as well as his...

  • What Should You Do If You Get Served With A Search Warrant?

    The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution mandates that a cop present...

  • If Arrested, How Long Can You Be Held In Jail?

    No matter what crime you are charged with, you have 36 hours to have a bail hearing if you are in jail. This time requirement...

  • If Arrested, How Long Do You Have To Wait To Be Formally Charged?

    If you are in custody, the prosecution has 48 hours from the time of your demand to file...

  • Are All Of Your Privacy Rights Protected?

    No, the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution only protects your person, your home, your papers, and your...

  • What Are The Differences Between The United States And The Minnesota Constitutions?

  • After You Are Charged, What Does The Process Entail?

    Vigorously defending your rights demands a marathon, not a sprint, mentality. Every stone must be overturned.

Learn More About Your Rights Call For A Free Consultation 218-303-5497

Free Consultations

Client Reviews

More Reviews