Bussa Law

Main Menu

Even a first-offense DWI has significant consequences

Minnesota is notoriously hard on drunk drivers, but many people still choose to drive while intoxicated every day. As someone who tries to wait until you sober up before driving home, you know the risks that come with drinking and driving. You don't want to get a DWI or to face trouble from the police. Your goal is to get from one place to another safely.

Unfortunately, if you've had anything to drink at all, you could face DWI charges even if you're under the legal limit. If you happen to be over .08%, it just means that the police need no further evidence. If you are below that percentage and were perceived as driving recklessly, you could still face charges.

Did you know that a first-offense DWI in Minnesota comes with a possible punishment of 90 days in jail and fine of $1,000? That's a severe punishment for a single night's mistake. That's why it's very important that you work hard to defend yourself if you're facing DWI charges.

What is interesting is that the heavy fines and consequences in place don't necessarily deter people from drinking and driving. When you're impaired, you're less likely to think through your actions. You might decide to do what is socially acceptable rather than legally acceptable, putting yourself at risk of charges.

If you were driving with your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) below .08%, there is a better chance that you can fight the charges and have the penalties reduced or eliminated completely. Our website has more on what to do if you're accused of drunk driving when you think you're sober or under the limit.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • What Should You Do If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You should not be hostile. Simply stop and allow the cop to do the cop’s job. If you are ticketed or arrested, immediately...

  • What Should You Say If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You have constitutional rights that you can invoke. This means that you do not have to say anything to cops, which is...

  • Can A Cop Search Your Person And/Or Your Stuff?

    A cop can search you and/or your car if a cop has probable cause to believe you pose a violent threat to the cop and/or that you...

  • What Is The Standard To Arrest You?

    A cop must have probable cause to arrest you for a crime. A cop can use the cop’s training and experience as well as his...

  • What Should You Do If You Get Served With A Search Warrant?

    The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution mandates that a cop present...

  • If Arrested, How Long Can You Be Held In Jail?

    No matter what crime you are charged with, you have 36 hours to have a bail hearing if you are in jail. This time requirement...

  • If Arrested, How Long Do You Have To Wait To Be Formally Charged?

    If you are in custody, the prosecution has 48 hours from the time of your demand to file...

  • Are All Of Your Privacy Rights Protected?

    No, the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution only protects your person, your home, your papers, and your...

  • What Are The Differences Between The United States And The Minnesota Constitutions?

  • After You Are Charged, What Does The Process Entail?

    Vigorously defending your rights demands a marathon, not a sprint, mentality. Every stone must be overturned.

Learn More About Your Rights Call For A Free Consultation 218-303-5497

Free Consultations

Client Reviews

More Reviews