Bussa Law

Main Menu

What should you know about a Minnesota ignition interlock device?

In Minnesota, it's not a great idea to drink and drive. The DWI laws have been strengthened. As a result, you could face serious penalties if you decide to drink and drive.

Take for example what happens if you're arrested at twice the legal limit or higher. For those who test with a blood alcohol concentration of .16% or higher on a first offense, an ignition interlock device (IID) will be required for up to two years. Second-time offenders will also be required to use those devices regardless of their BAC.

The good thing about the IID is that it allows those who have been convicted of drunk driving to drive again immediately. Those who are eligible for the IID may regain partial or full driving privileges so long as they are not a danger to themselves or others and have a valid license.

Another interesting change in the law is that the loss of driving privileges has been doubled for many DWI offenses, but the IID counteracts that loss.

What should you expect if you have to get an IID?

The ignition interlock device is a device that tests your breath each time you drive and sometimes while you're driving. Retests while driving, known as rolling retests, ask you to blow into the device a few minutes after starting the vehicle. Interestingly, Minnesota also requires you to use a camera to record each and every test to verify accuracy.

If you're accused of a DWI, it's a good idea to defend yourself. While you may not end up losing your driving privileges, it's still not an offense that you want on your record.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • What Should You Do If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You should not be hostile. Simply stop and allow the cop to do the cop’s job. If you are ticketed or arrested, immediately...

  • What Should You Say If You Get Stopped By A Cop?

    You have constitutional rights that you can invoke. This means that you do not have to say anything to cops, which is...

  • Can A Cop Search Your Person And/Or Your Stuff?

    A cop can search you and/or your car if a cop has probable cause to believe you pose a violent threat to the cop and/or that you...

  • What Is The Standard To Arrest You?

    A cop must have probable cause to arrest you for a crime. A cop can use the cop’s training and experience as well as his...

  • What Should You Do If You Get Served With A Search Warrant?

    The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution mandates that a cop present...

  • If Arrested, How Long Can You Be Held In Jail?

    No matter what crime you are charged with, you have 36 hours to have a bail hearing if you are in jail. This time requirement...

  • If Arrested, How Long Do You Have To Wait To Be Formally Charged?

    If you are in custody, the prosecution has 48 hours from the time of your demand to file...

  • Are All Of Your Privacy Rights Protected?

    No, the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution only protects your person, your home, your papers, and your...

  • What Are The Differences Between The United States And The Minnesota Constitutions?

  • After You Are Charged, What Does The Process Entail?

    Vigorously defending your rights demands a marathon, not a sprint, mentality. Every stone must be overturned.

Learn More About Your Rights Call For A Free Consultation 218-303-5497

Free Consultations

Client Reviews

More Reviews